Silent Noon

Margaret Knight with Jennifer Partridge

CD only BEJOCD-25


Silent Noon is a classical recording by harpist and singer Margaret Knight.
Recorded at St George's, Brandon Hill, Bristol, the album includes songs both with harp, and with piano accompaniment by Jennifer Partridge - well known internationally for her partership with her brother, the tenor Ian Partridge. Ian and Jennifer have made innumerable broadcasts and recitals and their recording of Schubert's song Die Forelle featured in the 1998 Classic FM Radio Top Three Hundred most popular classical recordings.

The programme is as follows:

English songs with piano
1 Silent Noon (Vaughan Williams) 4.27

2 The Water Mill (Vaughan Williams) 3.35

3 The Fox (Warlock) 3.11

4 A Song of Shadows (Armstrong Gibbs) 2.35

5 Five Eyes (Armstrong Gibbs) 1.25

World songs with harp
6 Winter and Lullaby (trad. Japanese arr. Atsuko) 4.44

7 Cowherd's Song (trad. Norwegian arr. Knight) 1.55

8 Jeg Rejiste (Grieg arr. Knight) 2.00

9 The Mountain Rowan (trad. Russian arr. Knight) 2.09

10 Welcome Song (trad. Russian arr. Knight) 1.58

German songs with piano
11 Erinnerung (Mahler) 3.20

12 Das Irdische Leben (Mahler) 3.39

13 Die Nacht (R. Strauss) 3.05

14 Heimliche Aufforderung (R.Strauss) 3.58

Celtic songs with harp
15 My Lagen Love (trad. Irish arr. Knight) 4.24

16 Aignish (trad. Hebridean arr. Kennedy-Fraser) 3.20

17 Kishmul's Galley (trad. Hebridean arr. Kennedy-Fraser) 3.01

18 St Bride's Coracle (trad. Hebridean arr. Kennedy-Fraser) 2.42

19 Birds at the Fairy Fulling (trad. Hebridean arr. Kennedy-Fraser) 1.16

20 Till I Return (trad. Hebridean arr. Kennedy-Fraser) 3.15

Three Shakespeare songs
21 Under the Greenwood Tree (Madeline Dring) 1.38

22 Come Away, Death (Madeline Dring) 3.11

23 Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind (Madeline Dring) 1.52

Total playing time 66.43

Copyright © 1996/2003 Beautiful Jo Records